Call for Doctoral Consortium papers

The ACII 2009 Doctoral Consortium (DC) serves as forum for PhD students to share ideas about the theories behind affective computing; its development; and its application. The goal of this Special Session of the Conference is to compare approaches, discuss future research problems and receive feedback from the international community.  

The aims of the Doctoral Consortium
  • to provide PhD students with a friendly and lively atmosphere for presenting their research ideas, exchanging experiences with peers, and receiving constructive feedback on their work from the international research community;
  • to help students and doctoral candidates to formulate research questions and organise their research;
  • to help to forge new relationships and collaborations within the International ACII community, promoting collaborative research;
  • to support a new generation of researchers with information and advice on academic, research, industrial, and non-traditional career paths.

Proceedings of the Doctoral Consortium will be published in a self-contained volume (separate from the Conference Proceedings), with an ISBN.

Some funds will be available for supporting students with particular needs. Inquiries should be made to the Conference Chairs (see below).

The Fiorella de Rosis award

There will be an award for the best paper by a PhD student. It is named after Prof Fiorella de Rosis, who co-chaired the first ACII Doctoral Consortium.

The Fiorella de Rosis award is given by the HUMAINE Association to commemorate one of the outstanding figures in the field of emotion and computing, and a founder member of the Association. Her research made the fundamental point that emotion needs to be integrated into logical models of argument. She was also one of the field’s idealists, always ready to speak out when she felt that others were settling for the least awkward rather than the best. She combined intellect and conviction with genuine warmth, and her death in 2008 was deeply felt throughout the community.

One of her constant concerns was to ensure that young researchers were encouraged. She assembled an excellent young team in Bari, and she was also co-chair of the first ACII Doctoral Consortium (at Lisbon in 2007). For that reason, the HUMAINE Association felt it was right to commemorate her by an award for the best paper at the ACII Doctoral Consortium.


Submission should describe PhD research that is at a stage where feedback from the international community might be of value. Thus, it is expected that students who will submit papers should be closing to make a PhD research proposal, or have made it already but have at least a year of work remaining to complete their PhD thesis. Submissions must not exceed eight pages (including references). They should be well organised and structured in a way that demonstrates the links between the concepts presented, and they should clearly specify:
  • the problem(s) that the proposed research is addressing and how this fits into the bigger picture
  • the aims and objectives of the research
  • the methodology to achieve the objectives and the proposed solution(s), including a brief description of work done so far and a tentative plan for future work
  • the main contribution(s) of the research to the development of Affective Computing
Paper topics should be related to the conference topics, which are given in the general call for papers (see list of important sites below).

Papers should be a maximum of 8 pages, including references. Submissions should be made in electronic format as PDF files.
Detailed formatting instructions are given below.

The deadline submission is June 5, 2009. Please send your paper as an attachment to an email message to all three ACII'09 Doctoral Consortium Co-chairs:
  • Catherine Pelachaud []
  • Roddy Cowie []
  • Alessandro Vinciarelli  []
If you have any questions regarding submissions, please email one of the Co-Chairs.

Important Dates
  • Doctoral Consortium Proposal Submission: June 5, 2009
  • Doctoral Consortium Notification: July 3, 2009
  • Early registration for students: July 17, 2009
  • Camera-Ready Version Submissions: July 24, 2009

Programme Committee

  • Shazia Afzal (University of Cambridge)
  • Barbara Caputo (Idiap Research Institute)
  • Ginevra Castellano (Queen Mary University London)
  • Alfred Dielmann (Idiap Research Institute)
  • Didier Grandjean (University of Geneva)
  • Hatice Gunes (Imperial College London)
  • Jennifer Hanratty (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Dirk Heylen (University of Twente)
  • Kostas Karpousis (Technical University of Athens)
  • Margaret McRorie (Queen's University of Belfast)
  • Daniela Romano (University of Sheffield)
  • Ioana Vasilescu (LIMSI-CNRS)
  • Gualtiero Volpe (University of Genova)

Formating instructions

We provide here latex and word templates. Please use only these templates for formatting your document.